On Friday the 3rd of November, 2023, the Australian Electric Vehicle Assocation held its annual national conference, followed by a Gala dinner at Fraser's Restaurant, overlooking the city from Kings Park.

Much of the Friday conference was captured by AVPartners, contracted by the Perth Exhibition and Convention Centre to video record most of the presentations, however the first and second streams (Access to affordable EVs and Not Just Cars) were not recorded. We have tried to include a copy of the speaker's presentations and any other links available, where possible.

This page will remain accessible by AEVA members who are logged into the website, but will be open access in early 2024.  We thank everyone for attending the event, and hope to see you next year on Hobart.

Special thanks to our strategic partners, the West Australian Government (representing the WA EV Network powered by Synergy and Horizon Power, WA Department of Transport, Energy Policy WA, Department of Energy of Mines Industry Regulation and Safety, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation); our Platinum Sponsor Polestar; our Major Sponsor, BMW Auto Classic; Gold Sponsors Kingman EVC, Car-bon Leasing and Rentals; an support from Business Events Perth.


Friday Conference


Welcome to Country: Welcome to Whadjuk Country. Noongar elder, Kevin Fitzgerald welcomes the delegation to his peoples' country.


Opening speech: WA Climate minister, Hon. Reece Whitby.


Keynote presentation: Brent Toderian - Better Transportation in a 5-Crises World


Keynote Panel Discussion: Hon. Kate Chaney MP, Natalie Thompson (EV Council), Peter Newman (Curtin University) and Jonathan Williams (Polestar) - What planning changes can governments embrace, to enable rapid decarbonisation of transport? Chaired by MC James Lush.



Stream 1: Access to more affordable EVs

Brendon Green (Pickles Auctions) - Fleet EVs into the second hand market

Presentation in .pdf format

Yuan Peng (Fenner School of Environment, ANU) - Exploring the role of city-level policy in enabling local EV uptake

Presentation in .pdf format

Kirk McDonald (NewEnergyNexus) - Bulk conversions of ICE vehciles to electric

Presentation in .pdf format

Michelle Nazzari (Fonz Moto) - Electric two-wheelers

(presentation pending)

Affordable EVs Panel Session: Brendon Green, Yuan Peng, Kirk McDonald, Michelle Nazzari, chaired by Chris Vanderstock 


Stream 2: Truly Sustainable Transport

Rosemary Barnes (Pardalote) - Critical minerals in the EV industry


Katie Biggs (Augusta-Margaret River Shire) - Driving the EV transition in regional WA


Prof. Ray Wills (Future Smart) - Global growth of EVs, 2030 and beyond


Sustainability Panel Session: Ray Wills, Jonathan Williams (Polestar), Scott Gillespie (Car-bon) and Max Winkless (Truck Centre WA). Chaired by Danielle Griffiths (Future Battery Industries CRC).


Stream 3: Access to more reliable charging

Dunstan Power: EV Charging challengs around the world


Melanie Davies (WA Local Goverment Association): Accelerating the Local Government transition to battery electric vehicles in Western Australia


Damien Moran (Energy-Tec): The requirements for multi-dwelling properties to prepare for EV charging


Charging Panel Session: Dunstan Power, Melanie Davies, Damien Moran. Hosted by Riz Akhtar.



Stream 4: Not Just Cars

Nicholas Johnson (UC Davis) - Impacts of e-bike ownership on travel behaviour: Evidence from three northern California rebate programs

Presentation in .pdf format

Dr Alexa Delbosc (Monash University) - E-scooters: The future of mobility, or a frivolous toy?

Presentation in .pdf format

John Buck (Metronet, PTA) - The new C-class electric railcars for the Perth suburban rail network

Presentation in .pdf format

Panel session: Nick Johnson, Dr Alexa Delbosc, Prof. Peter Newmann and Paul Burke (PTA), hosted by Dr Chris Jones.

(not recorded, unfortunately)


Afternoon Keynote Presentation: Markus Rotvatn (Norsk Elbilforening) - How Did Norway Lead the World on EVs?


Panel session: The role of Civil Society in the transition to electric transport. Session chaired by John Harris.