The Australian Electric Vehicle Association

You are here:

About us

About us

The Australian Electric Vehicle Association Inc. (AEVA) is a volunteer run, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to the cause of switching Australia's transport networks to electric drive as quickly as possible.  We all share a common interest in Electric Vehicles (EVs) and electric vehicle technology.  Formed after the oil price shocks of 1973, the AEVA continues to promote EVs.  

Our purpose is to provide a forum for social and technical communication in the EV field, create greater awareness of EVs and encourage their use, to foster further research and development in EV technology, and to be an official source of information on EVs in Australia.

For many decades the only way to access an electric vehicle was to build or convert your own.  The AEVA played a leading role in the establishment of national guidelines for electric vehicle modifications (NCOP14) and continues to advice DIY builders and registered training organisations alike.  Since the late 2000's, commercially available electric cars and bikes have been trickling into Australia.  We represent all EV users and enthusiasts, and are more than happy to offer jargon-free advice on which EV is right for you.  We also make regular submissions to government and industry about policies which will help transition to electric drive, and away from imported fossil fuels for transport.

The Association

The AEVA is structured as a federation of state-based branches, overseen by an elected national executive consisting of President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary.  Each state branch elects a committee who oversee the running of events, workshops, education, promotion and media engagements.  Everybody is welcome to attend a branch meeting - no need to own an EV or even be a member, although we still encourage you to join!  Visit the 'Branches' tab above and find your nearest EV community.  

Media contacts

As a national body, we have members in each state and territory who are keen to field any questions for radio, television and print media.

NSW: Greg Partridge - 0411 052 582

ACT: Peter Gorton - 0419 601 579

VIC: Bryce Gaton - 0428 537 053

​TAS: Clive Attwater - 0439 941 934

SA: Paul Koch - 0431 866 586

NT: Hunter Murray (Alice Springs) 08 89523411- Richard Smith (Darwin) - 0401 110 198

WA: Chris Jones  - 0418 908 002

QLD: Leslie Smith - 0401 250 624


AEVA YouTube channel

Please subscribe to the AEVA YouTube channel where we post videos on EVs and electric mobility.

This video, put together by the South Australian branch of the AEVA nicely highlights some of the things we do, and why: