The Australian Electric Vehicle Association

You are here:

2014 Watershed Year for Australian Electric Superbikes

Team O'Hanlon Electirc Motorsports win eFXC 2014

The four-round series of the eFXC (Australian electric superbikes) was wrapped up for 2014 at Sydney Motorsports Park in November.  West Australian Danny Pottage dominated throughout the season on the O'Hanlon Electric Motorsports "Voltron Evo" and claimed another clean sweep of all four races at SMP and taking the championship with 394 points.  Runner-up for the series was Daniel Ripperton on his electrified Yamaha R1, claiming 354 points for the series, with Jason Morris taking third for team Varley on 168 points.  The eFXC class saw a total of 7 bikes entered over the course of the season; a record number of entrants since the inaugural series in 2011.  As Australia's only electric motorcycle racing series (a class within the Australasian FX-Superbike Series) it can also boast being the nations only true-prototype race class.  The brief is simple - two wheels, electric, weight no less than 100 kg and no more than 250 kg. 

2014 was a watershed year for the electric superbikes, both in terms of the number of machines and riders in the round, and the consistency with which the bikes were lapping at each circuit at pace.  Danny Pottage bettered last year's SMP record by 6 seconds (1 min 42.8 sec) while Daniel Ripperton reset the 2011 Winton Raceway record by almost 15 seconds.  Speeds of up to 265 km/h were achieved at Queensland Raceway, with the Voltron Evo machine being faster than a 1000 cc superbike at the end of the straight at Wakefield Park.

All the action returns in 2015 with the first eFXC race scheduled for Mallala Raceway, South Australia on the weekend of the 15th-17th of May.  If you want to get involved in this exciting series, please contact Terry or Gloria at

Groups audience: 
More Images: 
Group content visibility: 
Use group defaults